What is Accreditation?

Accreditation is a means of self-regulation and peer review adopted by members of the educational community. In the United States, there are six institutional accrediting associations in higher education, each responsible for a specific geographic area. Institutions choose to apply for accredited status. Once accredited, they agree to abide by the standards of their accrediting organization and to regulate themselves by taking responsibility for their own improvement. The federal government requires that an institution be accredited by a nationally recognized accrediting organization in order for its students to be eligible to receive financial aid.  

In addition to institutional accreditation, individual degree programs are often required to complete specialized program accreditations.  For more details about the requirements and expectations for various specialized program accreditation processes, see the list below of accredited programs at LHU.   After initial accreditation, institutions must undergo a thorough review and reaccreditation assuring that they continue to meet the accrediting standards and requirements according to the cycle set forth by either the institutional or specialized program accrediting body.   

What is Middle States Institutional Accreditation?

On March 10, 2022, the Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) approved the integration of Lock Haven University of Pennsylvania and Mansfield University of Pennsylvania with and into Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania effective July 1, 2022, and noted the name change of Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania to Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania.  These changes are documented in the Statement of Accreditation Status for Commonwealth University, which includes Lock Haven University as an additional location. 

Commonwealth University is accredited by MSCHE, 1007 North Orange Street, 4th Floor, MB #166, Wilmington, DE 19801, MSCHE is a voluntary, non-governmental, institutional membership association currently serving higher education institutions in Delaware, the District of Columbia, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, and other geographic areas in which the Commission conducts accrediting activities. The MSCHE is an institutional accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education and the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA).

The Middle States accreditation review cycle and monitoring procedures outline activities and timing for self-study evaluation, on-site evaluation, mid-point peer review, and monitoring activities.  Please see the LHU Middle States Reaccreditation site for more information on LHU's past accreditation efforts.


Specialized Program Accreditation at LHU

Professional degree programs at Lock Haven are accredited by the following specialized accrediting agencies.

Accounting Accreditation Council for Business Schools & Programs (ACBSP) Accreditation Letter
Athletic Training Commission on Accreditation of Athletic Training (CAATE) Accreditation Letter
Business Administration Accreditation Council for Business Schools & Programs (ACBSP) Accreditation Letter
Clinical Mental Health Counseling Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP) Accreditation Letter
Nursing - BSN Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN) Accreditation Certificate
Nursing - ASN Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN) Accreditation Letter
Physician Assistant Accreditation Review Commission of Education for the Physician Assistant (ARC-PA) Accreditation Posting
Recreation Management Council on Accreditation of Parks, Recreation, Tourism, and Related Fields (COAPRT) Accreditation Letter
Social Work Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) Accreditation Letter
Teacher Education Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP)/
National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE)
and the 
Pennsylvania Department of Education
 Accreditation Letter

In addition, the following programs within teacher education have been nationally recognized by the appropriate Specialty Professional Associations (SPAs).

Program Accrediting agency accreditation letter
English National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE) Accreditation Letter
Early Childhood Education: PreK-4 National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC) Accreditation Letter
Health & Physical Education Society for Health and Physical Educators (Health Education)

Society for Health and Physical Educators (Physical Education)
Accreditation Letter
Mathematics National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM) Accreditation Letter
Middle Level Education Association for Middle Level Education (AMLE) Accreditation Letter
(Biology, Chemistry, Earth Science, General Science, Physics)
National Science Teachers Association (NSTA) Accreditation Letter
Social Studies National Council for the Social Studies (NCSS) Accreditation Letter
Special Education Council for Exceptional Children (CEC) Accreditation Letter

Program Recognition

The University continues to pursue appropriate accreditation and recognition for additional programs.

Contact Us

Office of Institutional Effectiveness

Dr. Cori Myers, Associate Vice President, Institutional Effectiveness
G34A Stevenson Library, Lock Haven University
(570) 484-2274

Office Hours

8:00am to 4:30pm Monday-Friday

Connect with Admissions Online

Not PrinceFaxMail PhoneSearchFacebook GitHub InstagramKickStarterLinkedInPinterestRedditRSSTumblrTwitterVineWordPressYouTube