President’s Commission on LGBTQ Affairs

 

LGBTQ Logo
The mission of the President’s Commission on LGBTQ Affairs is to create a more inclusive and supportive campus and community climate through education, activism, and advocacy for all, regardless of sexual orientation or gender identity.


Commission Membership

BOARD
Vice Chair – Rick Schulze - fschulze@lockhaven.edu
Treasurer – John Gradel - jgradel@lockhaven.edu
MEMBERS
Jennifer Deitloff - jmd240@lockhaven.edu
Gayatri Devi - gdevi@lockhaven.edu
Amy Downes - abd350@lockhaven.edu
Rachel Epstein - ree850@lockhaven.edu
Kate Fiegel - kaf833@lockhaven.edu
Laura Gardner - lmg474@lockhaven.edu
Matt Girton - mgirton@lockhaven.edu
Angelic Hardy - angelic.hardy@lockhaven.edu
Erin Kennedy - ekennedy@lockhaven.edu
Shawn O'Dell - sodell@lockhaven.edu
Emily Powell Hodges - emp109@lockhaven.edu
Pamela Ruane - plr235@lockhaven.edu
Lisette Schillig - lschilli@lockhaven.edu
Carl Sell - cbs24@lockhaven.edu
Kylie Shirk - kjl802@lockhaven.edu
Julie Stellfox - jms833@lockhaven.edu
Julie Story - jstory@lockhaven.edu
Denise Tyson - dtyson@lockhaven.edu
Elsa Winch - ewinch@lockhaven.edu

To become a member please complete a membership form, found here: https://www.emailmeform.com/builder/form/sl4MG65dfz6aX0

There are a variety of committees within the commission:

Advocacy

Identify and advocate for policy related issues on the local, regional, state and national levels. Educate Commission members and campus community regarding policy issues.

Chair
Elsa Winch – ewinch@lockhaven.edu

Assessment

Assess educational programs.

Chair
Denise Tyson – dtyson@lockhaven.edu

Fundraising

Determines fundraisers throughout the year to raise money for our annual Book Awards.

Chair
John Gradel – jrg5874@lockhaven.edu

Lavender Graduation

Coordinate Lavender Graduation ceremonies in December and April.

Chair
Dr. Gayatri Devi – gdevi@lockhaven.edu

Membership

Recruit faculty, staff and students for overall Commission and committees.

Chair
TBD

President's Award

Coordinate the nominations for the President’s student award given out annually at Spring Convocation.

Chair
TBD

Programing, Education & Visibility

Identify, schedule and publicize guest speakers, trainers or entertainers. Develop and implement campus awareness activities. Facilitate collaboration among Commission, Gender & Sexuality Alliance, Gender Equality & Liberation, and other affiliate groups.

Chair
Julie Stellfox jms833@lockhaven.edu

SafeZone

Coordinate, recruit, train and publicize ally program.

Chair
Rick Schulze – fschulze@lockhaven.edu

SafeZone

The SafeZone Committee encourages students, staff & faculty to participate in private SafeZone trainings. The mission of SafeZone is to help build support networks for LGBTQ individuals seeking a sense of connection to the campus community. Students who feel connected are much more likely to stay and complete their education. Having safe spaces to go where LGBTQ can feel comfortable with self-expression is vital to personal and academic success. Safe Zone Ally programs help reduce discrimination, harassment, and violence nationally reported to impact LGBTQ populations.

To request a training please complete a request form: https://www.emailmeform.com/builder/form/fe2o89cs30nc4NWJCyLYe1x

Gender & Sexuality Alliance

GSA is a student run organization with a similar directive to the Commission. Students work closely with the Commission, often serving on various committees. GSA events are often co-sponsored by the Commission and are noted as such on the Events Page.

Connect With Us

The Commission is dedicated to educating our audience. Our facebook page shares many educational articles, videos and stories of the LGBT Community. In an effort to educate we have established #TerminologyTuesday. Check us out here:

President’s Commission on LGBTQ Affairs

LHU Gender & Sexuality Alliance

Not PrinceFaxMail PhoneSearchFacebook GitHub InstagramKickStarterLinkedInPinterestRedditRSSTumblrTwitterVineWordPressYouTube